Failing Memory

“How I wish you forget me. At least then I’ll have a life to be called my OWN!”, the long ago said words came back to him. Never really did he thought that this wish of his could come true. On his knees he stood beside his mother’s bed in a hospital craving for her to say, “My son” just once. But all that came out of the old Alzheimer patient’s mouth was, “I don’t know you. You are mistaken young man.”.

18 Comments Add yours

  1. This is not merely touching, but moving. MAA…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yamini says:

      Thank you so much…mothers are special, a story about her can move us!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Of course. May God bless us and our parents alike. 😇

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yamini says:

        Yeas, surely!

        Like

  2. Rob says:

    Wow, you’ve said so much about this condition in so little

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yamini says:

      Thank you, I am glad you liked it!

      Like

  3. theonlysup says:

    That’s painful.. Really

    Like

    1. Yamini says:

      Indeed it is…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. This is absolutely astonishing, so stirring it sent a chill down my spin… I had a case of Alzheimer in my family and I know about it by experience. You really captured all the tragedy and the grieve that it means.

    Like

    1. Yamini says:

      Thank you … I am glad you could connect 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  5. beetleypete says:

    When my own mother was dying, in 2012, she couldn’t recognise me, and confused me with all sorts of other people. It was one of the worst aspects of having to watch her die slowly.
    Best wishes, Pete.

    Like

    1. Yamini says:

      It pains me to come across such incidents…it’s a painful illness that hurts the patient and more than him, his loved one’s. I dedicate this story to all those families who had to undergo this phase…it is sad.

      Like

  6. Elizabeth says:

    My mother had Alzheimer’s and the first time she asked me how she knew me my heart shattered.

    Like

    1. Yamini says:

      I can understand your pain…its not easy to deal with such a situation..you are very brave.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Elizabeth says:

        It was hard but I loved Mama so much.

        Like

Leave a Reply

